Pain Tolerance

In my world, pain is divided into four categories:

Level 1 – mild
Level 2 – moderate
Level 3 – severe
Level 4 – intolerable

Of course, there should be a fifth category, but that would be “non-existent” and therefore irrelevant to my post today.

Here are examples of how I’ve rated pain in my life:

Level 1 – glucose testing, cat scratches, an IUI procedure. These are usually any type of pain that passes quickly and with minimal complaining.
Level 2 – PIO shots (any needles, actually), stubbing my toe, road rash, dealing with family. These are usually any type of pain that involves a considerable amount of bitching and moaning from me, with or without adding pressure to the area of pain.
Level 3 – period cramps, migraines, gas pains. These are usually any type of pain that forces me to complain on end, end up in a dark room or hot bath, with the added assistance of either Advil or other pain relief medications.
Level 4 – I can only think of two examples: miscarrying Bumble, my almost deadly biking accident. These situations have caused me to pass out due to the level of pain experienced. Body numbing medications were needed as well.

Recently, I have started to experience some aches and pains associated to pregnancy. I am only 23 weeks along, but since I’m carrying two little ones in me, I figured this would start to happen sooner than later. I do have back ache, I do get headaches, but this next one is new: complete pelvic pain.

Now, I knew my hips would hurt, but this isn’t really that. My public bone feels as if someone has kicked me 16 times in the vag, resulting in a level 2-3 in my pain categories – very strong, very painful, but not needing the use of medications to ease the discomfort quite yet – but I’ve taken quite a few baths to ease the pain. This pain will usually happen when I “overdo” it in a day… so, vacuuming, climbing the stairs, or sitting in the car too long. Really, doing anything other than watching TV for 6 hours straight. When my body doesn’t like my level of activity anymore, I will be hit with an overwhelming pain searing through my entire pelvis, causing me to cry out and start limping. I am unable to move my legs closer together, I can’t roll over in bed, and going from sitting to standing or vise versa is almost impossible. I will be unable to sleep, but if I do fall asleep, I wake up anytime I need to move even a little. This pain stays for at least a full day before easing.

All my research has pointed me to Pelvic Girdle Pain (PGP) , Symphysis Pubis Dysfuntion (SPD), and/or Diastasis Symphysis Pubis (DSP) – although this one is the least likely of all three.

Though I am an expert at self-diagnosis, this is not something I will be messing around with. I have another ultrasound and doctor’s appointment tomorrow, and rest assured, this will be my first concern to discuss with Dr. B. I definitely, definitely do not want this to get worse.

All I can say is that I’m very happy to not be working anymore!

Hope you’re all sleeping better than I am,

beanie

12 thoughts on “Pain Tolerance

  1. Ouch! That sounds simply miserable. I’m glad you have an appointment tomorrow and I’m really glad that you are taking this seriously! I hope Dr. B can sort this out for you so you aren’t stuck suffering for the months ahead!

  2. That sounds painful. I have been told by a friend that had something similar that her pain was much relieved when she took up prenatal yoga. She started with youtube videos at home and just did the beginning warm up stretches and the cool down stretches. Eventually she was going to a beginners class. I think you are definitely doing the right thing with the doc, I hope he can help.

  3. I’m sorry to hear about all of this pain you’re having. 😦 I’m glad you’re going to talk to the doctor. Thinking of you and hoping you get some relief soon! ❤

  4. Good luck! What you are describing sounds a lot like my spd diagnosis a few weeks back. One thing I have gotten which made a huge difference is a serola belt from Amazon. It’s a thin elastic belt that holds your sacroiliac joints together and relieves some of the pressure.

    1. My doctor said nay-nay to the belt, so I’ll be toughing it out like all my other pregnancy woes (that are completely worth it for the two princesses I’ll be bringing home!)

      1. I don’t know. My doctor is the head of the research department at the hospital I’m going to. If he felt there was any sort of validity, I don’t doubt that he would have referred me out. He sees hundreds of pregnant people a year, so I trust he’s come across this more than a few times and I trust his opinion.

      2. I don’t doubt it either. My only thinking is that we already know I have a weak pelvic floor and issues with things which could be why my doctor felt like the support would benefit me. I was just trying to help you find a possible relief.

Leave a Reply

